A day in our life

Get up any time after 5. On good days Niki sleeps till around 6 by mostly he’s up by 5:30. He does stay in the bed till 6 though so I can at least lie down till then though I do have to get up at around 5:45 when the cook shows up to open the door and tell her what to make. Change his diaper, put on his socks and bring him out. Wake up R if he’s not up by 6:15, Anna also gets up soon after R. Drink tea and start on the work – make the beds, start a load on the washing machine, pack Anna’s tiffin, have a bath. Then Anna’s turn, brush her teeth, give her a bath, dress her for school. In the meanwhile R entertains Niki. R has a bath while I give Anna her breakfast and clean up the morning mess all the while with Niki hanging on my hip. R joins Anna for breakfast while I bathe Niki and sit with him for some time while he plays in the tub. Get him out and dress him up (this part is hard), then strap him into his highchair for breakfast. Luckily he usually eats well. 8 o’ clock R and Anna leave. R gets her onto her bus and then leaves for office. I feed Niki then eat my own breakfast while he plays. The cleaning maid arrives and starts the work. I somehow sneak away for 2 minutes to clean up the bathroom and then get dressed. Then play time with Niki till 9. The babysitter arrives and I leave for office.

Reach office around 9:20. I spend around 20 minutes on FB etc. and then work. Lunch break at 12:30 and tea break at 3. Leave office at exactly 5 o’ clock.

Reach home at around 5:25. The kids are playing downstairs so I get some time. Straighten up the house, get their night clothes out, have a snack and by then it’s 6. The second baby sitter (who arrives at 12) leaves. Hugging/kissing/play time with the kids. Brush, hands/face wash and change of clothes for both. R comes home anytime between 6 and 7. The first babysitter leaves when he’s home. Sterilize Niki’s bottles, prepare his bottles for the night and then bedtime. I take Niki and R takes Anna. By 7:20 they’re usually asleep.

One more round of straightening up, put the curd to set, login and check mails/order grocery and then dinner time around 8. After that if I have work then back to the laptop or else collapse on the sofa and read/watch TV. In bed  by 10:30 latest. Change Niki’s diaper if it seems full. After that he gets up a few times in the night for milk/paci. After 2 I usually pull him close to me and he sleeps snuggled up. Every few days his diaper will leak in the middle of the night and I’ll have to change it.

I’m pretty happy with our current schedule. Luckily work pressure is not too bad so I get some time for myself. Life is full and I am loving it :). Touch wood.

About anna's mom

First time mom to my lovely little Anna. Mostly swinging between exhaustion and exhilaration. Avid reader, feminist, and out of words at the moment No longer a first time mom. Now mom to my darling babies - Anna and Niki. Still exhausted, still exhilarated,
This entry was posted in Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

