Niki’s tales

Niki is almost 10 months old now. It really is true that time flies when you’re having fun. I am so so happy that we decided to have a second baby :). All my fears were mostly unfounded and the blessings have been far greater than I imagined.

Niki is a funny baby. R and I always say that even when he cries we feel like laughing because he looks so funny. He has one particular trick which he does when he’s very excited which always makes us laugh. R calls it his ‘auto’ look – he makes an O of his mouth, rolls his eyes from side to side and moves his hands as if he’s driving an auto. In fact he moves his hands a lot and also jumps a lot. He still isn’t crawling and I think that he’ll directly move to walking. He can now walk quite well holding onto someones hands. He is yet to stand unsupported or even cruise but seems to be getting there. He loves jumping and the minute he stands (or even if he’s lying down) he starts jumping. Seems all his energies go in vertical movement and that’s why there’s none left for the horizontal stuff.

He seems to be a foodie and yay to that. Current menu is toast/omelet/fruit for breakfast, juice at 11 am, khichdi and dahi for lunch, fruit/aloo tikki for fillers in between, sooji/daal-roti for dinner. He also wants to eat whatever Anna is eating.

I’ve mentioned before how much I struggled in breastfeeding Anna since she refused to drink formula/cow’s milk till she was a year old. With Nikki I didn’t want to repeat the same mistake so we started giving him one bottle of formula since he was a month old. For the first six months feeding him was really easy. He’d have his one bottle of formula a day without fuss and breastfeed the rest of the time. When I joined back work the one bottle became two and plus I pumped one bottle everyday. He was also eating so there was no problem. Then when he was around seven months old he started getting very hungry at night and so we started giving him a bottle then. That was a mistake because he then refused to breastfeed. I tried for a few days but then had to give up. So I started pumping twice a day and was giving him formula otherwise. But pumping for long isn’t sustainable for me so twice a day became once, then alternate day and finally I stopped completely a couple of days ago. I was only able to pump a pathetically small quantity and it just didn’t seem worth it. I do feel guilty because I had wanted to breastfeed him for at least a year, but no point crying over it. He drinks his formula without fuss and it’s one less thing for me to do. I have always hated pumping in any case.

He says mama very sweetly now. Like Anna he’s very reluctant to say Papa and poor R keeps trying. He has said it a few times but usually won’t. He rarely cries – he mostly either whines like a puppy or just keeps shouting till he gets what he wants. He babbles a lot and seems to understand some of the stuff which we say. Ask him ‘pigeon kahan hai’ and he points to the balcony, he also points to the light and fan. We have a hanging on one door which has figures of birds, fish and elephants. He loves that hanging and sometimes says ‘hishh’ (fish) when he’s near it. He loves bright lights and always looks at them.

He’s overall not very difficult to handle. He plays with his basket of toys for up to half an hour at a time which is something Anna never did so I’m really thankful for it this time. He also seems to be naughtier than Anna in the sense that he wants to tear and break stuff. He tries his best to grab her books but we only let him look in from a little far off when we’re reading to her. He seems to enjoy the stories and I hope he’ll love books as much as Anna does. I really feel we’ll have to baby proof big time once he’s moving specially since Anna has so much stuff lying around.

Physically he’s a big baby. He’s 27 inches tall and weighs 8.7 kgs at 9.5 months old. Anna weighed 8.5 Kgs at one year old and I was always worried about her weight but no such worries this time now. He’s quite strong and is the opposite of my dainty girl.

He obviously loves Anna and she is his favourite person in the world. He’s also started crying the minute he sees me if I don’t pick him. Not that I’m complaining – who wouldn’t want to squish and squeeze this darling little baby monk?

10330312_10154178813820427_1246259242800044626_n

Anna turned four on the 15th. A post on that hopefully coming up soon.

About anna's mom

First time mom to my lovely little Anna. Mostly swinging between exhaustion and exhilaration. Avid reader, feminist, and out of words at the moment No longer a first time mom. Now mom to my darling babies - Anna and Niki. Still exhausted, still exhilarated,
This entry was posted in Niki and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Niki’s tales

  1. Omg kids are growing so fast. He is so adorable 🙂

  2. Pingback: Almost a year old | annastales

Leave a Reply

