About Niki

Time to write something about my poor second baby. I do so want some record of his first year and more than half of it is already gone.
Niki is almost seven and a half months old now. And so much naughtier than I’d expected him to be. When he was born, he spent the first few days sleeping a lot and in general being a low maintenance baby. This made everyone say that he would be quite seedha-sadha. But now he’s showing his true colours!
He turned over later than Anna did. He turned over for the first time at around 10 days short of 4 months, but I think that was by accident. After that, he just didn’t show any interest at all in turning. He was happy lying on his back. His energies were more focused on raising his head and bottom rather than in turning. Finally he started flipping over consistently at little over six months old. But even now it’s not something he does all the time (unlike Anna who used to roll from one end of the mattress to the other). He’s showing no interest at all in crawling and is yet to try. I consciously don’t compare him with Anna because she did all this stuff way ahead of time and in any case with him I’m more of he’ll do it when he wants to.
He’s making lots of sounds. I’ve heard a few mama’s but they’re mostly while crying and I don’t think he associates it with me yet. He’s started showing preference for people and immediately holds out his arms when he sees R or me. Mummy left last week and R’s mom is here so things were a bit unsettled but are settling down now.
He’s fond of food – a big touch wood to that. He definitely prefers sweet which is again different from what Anna used to prefer. He has around 3-4 solid meals a day and unless he’s sleepy he prefers food over milk. Current menu includes banana, stewed apple, diluted orange juice, cerelac, ragi, vegetable puri and suji upma. Am thinking of starting khichdi soon. It’s a real pleasure to feed him since you can see that he’s really enjoying the food unlike Anna who was never really into food. She never demanded something we were eating or showed much interest in food.
Sleep was good but has been bad for the past few days. He naps around twice a day for anything from an hour to two. He’s very sleepy in the evenings and goes to sleep between six and seven no matter how much I try to keep him up a little longer. And then he’s been getting up before 5 in  the morning. I’m handling it now by going to sleep at 9 but I’ll be starting a new job in April and might have some work in the evenings then, but again, I’m not so worried. Anna’s sleep pattern kept changing till she was one and then she started consistently sleeping at night.
He loves going out and it’s a sure shot way to make him stop whining.
He loves, loves, loves Anna and keeps his biggest smiles for her. He tries his best to grab  her hair and she’s been mostly very good with him. Seeing them together is my biggest pleasure and I feel so very happy that I have two kids.
On the whole, Niki is a happy, cuddly, delicious little baby and I can’t stop myself from squeezing him to bits.

About anna's mom

First time mom to my lovely little Anna. Mostly swinging between exhaustion and exhilaration. Avid reader, feminist, and out of words at the moment No longer a first time mom. Now mom to my darling babies - Anna and Niki. Still exhausted, still exhilarated,
This entry was posted in Niki and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

