Happy Birthday Nana

Today would have been my Nana’s (mother’s father’s) 84th birthday. He passed away on 10th October 2013, just 6 months after my Nani left this world.

He was so lost without Nani, he just didn’t want to live. I really think he died of a broken heart. I miss them both so much, but I’m also grateful that the end was easy for both of them. They lived good and happy lives, they passed away gracefully. I can only hope that the rest of my loved ones would be as lucky as them.

It’s as if God gave him those 6 extra months just to meet everyone one last time. I still bitterly regret not having met Nani before she died, but I’m happy that I spent time with Nana. He was here when Niki was born, and Niki was the last person he smiled at before he died.

We left from Bangalore to Guwahati on 2nd October. All of us (Anna, Niki, R and I) were sick with viral. Mummy and Nana were fine. On 6th October he fell sick, the same viral infection. Since he was so old and unable to eat or swallow the medicines, he was admitted to the hospital. He recovered slowly and on 10th afternoon he came back home. The doctors had also done all types of tests while he was in hospital and said he was in good health. When he came home, he was very weak and tired and just slept the whole day. Then in the evening Mummy went to his room with Niki to talk to him and he smiled at Niki. In another half an hour he suddenly collapsed. Papa rushed him to the hospital but he was gone – the doctors said it was a massive cardiac arrest.

Mummy lost both her parents in one year. We lost our grandparents. But now the pain is less and the happy memories are what remain with us. I am so lucky to have had them as my grandparents and to have spent so much time with them. I am so happy that there was no pain and long drawn out end for either of them. They’re together again, which is what Nana wanted so desperately.

Happy Birthday Nana. I will never be able to say these words to you ever again.

And you know what, Niki looks so much like you. When he was born everyone used to say he looks like me (as opposed to Anna who looked just like R). But now, he looks a lot like you.

I miss you and Nani so much.

About anna's mom

First time mom to my lovely little Anna. Mostly swinging between exhaustion and exhilaration. Avid reader, feminist, and out of words at the moment No longer a first time mom. Now mom to my darling babies - Anna and Niki. Still exhausted, still exhilarated,
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Birthday Nana

  1. Hugs dear!! How’s Anna and Niki doing?

Leave a Reply

