Facebook IV

I really want to write something and this takes the least time. Hopefully will be able to put up a ‘real’ post in a few days.

15.12.2013
More than two months of pure ‘aish’ coming to an end. A big garden for Anna to play in, trips to Gangtok, Nathula pass, Itanagar and Kazhiranga, no work at all (both house and office), yummy food and endless cups of tea, no responsibilities other than to feed and bathe my kids (had help there too :)), no conf calls, no emails, no grocery shopping, read loads and loads of books (finally finished the wheel of time series), watched some soaps on tv (still don’t like them much though), spent lots of time snuggling with Niki and playing with Anna. I don’t remember when I last did so much of ‘nothing’. Now back to the real world. Back to juggling kids and work and house. Back to my love-hate relationship with Bangalore. Two more weeks to go.

21.10.2013
There was a little girl who was the absolute apple of her parents’ eyes. She was used to being the centre of attention at all times. Then she had a little brother, tough times for the little girl. But slowly she came around from asking to send the baby back to the hospital to protesting when anyone talked about taking him away. Slowly she accepted him as part of her life and that her life would never be the same again. Now she talks of all the fun they will have once he grows up. My two lovely babies, may you be the best of friends and be there for each other always.
Now if only I could figure out a way to stop her from squeezing his delicious little legs.

17.08.2013
Me (to Mummy): She’s coughing a lot, we shouldn’t give her M-I-L-K today.
Anna: Tum kyu mujhe du-du nahi dogi?
Me: !!!
Now what do we do? Sending text messages seems to be the only option.

27.06.2013
She insists that I carry her the short distance from the car to the school gate. But at the gate she waves a cheery ‘Bye Mumma’ and tells me to come home early and walks in. Her elephant bag on her back, her hair tied neatly in 2 pony-tails, looking like a big girl in her uniform. She never looks back and so doesn’t see my standing at the gate – waiting till she disappears from my view. Sometimes the sight of her little form walking away from me, so brave and so independent, fills my heart with an ache I cannot understand or put into words. Sometimes this world seems like too cruel a place – Mumma’s in office and Baby’s in school.
I’m just glad that you seem to be enjoying school – Abhi bohot bohot saal aur jaana hai.

15.05.2013
One more year gone in a flash. This year brought tantrums, screaming, hitting, the ‘appe aap’ phase, the exact knowledge of how to make me lose my cool, rejection, clinging, outright refusal, jealousy and possessiveness. It saw me behaving as a not so perfect mother too many times. It also turned my baby into a beautiful little girl, almost all traces of babyness lost. It brought stories, hugs and kisses galore, snuggles and cuddles, mad laughter and giggles, an interest in pretty things, a sense of humour, a mischievous smile and many more ‘I love you Mumma’s than ‘Mumma acchi nahi hai’. It kept our hearts full of love and pride. My baby is now three.
Happy Birthday Anna!

22.04.2013
Anna singing: Aayi (something something) – aayi poha chadha ke aayi. Poha chadha ke aayi.
The time has come to censor our playlist. And yes, poha is great!

One of my favourite photos of Anna and Niki. This was taken some time in November.

1454797_10153569496050427_1522113283_n

About anna's mom

First time mom to my lovely little Anna. Mostly swinging between exhaustion and exhilaration. Avid reader, feminist, and out of words at the moment No longer a first time mom. Now mom to my darling babies - Anna and Niki. Still exhausted, still exhilarated,
This entry was posted in Anna, Niki and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Facebook IV

  1. Good to see a post from you after ages:) they both are grown up 🙂

Leave a Reply

