I’m late, I’m late, I’m late.

Anna turned TWO years old on Tuesday, and I am a full 3 days late in posting about it.

Happy Birthday Baby! May you always be healthy, wealthy and wise. May you live long and live happy.

This is what I posted on Facebook the day after her birthday  –                                             The first six weeks were tougher than I ever imagined. The first six months went by slowly. At the end of the first year, I was just happy to have survived.
Now another year has gone by. I just want time to slow down, to give me more time with my baby, let me enjoy the baby hugs and kisses and cuddles, the baby voice with the most adorable lisp.
Happy 2nd Birthday Anna!

The party was great. I was vacillating between just having a normal lunch out with family like we do for our birthdays or having a party at home for her ‘friends’. I kept thinking she’s too small to really enjoy a party with friends and plus the effort was scaring me off. What tilted the decision was the fact that Mummy was arriving a couple of days before her birthday. With mom here I can handle any party! Anyway we decided to have the party at home and she really did enjoy herself. The kids were all well-behaved and I think they all had fun.

I baked a cake and took it to her summer camp in the morning, she received multiple gifts throughout the day, the party was good, the food was tasty, there were loads of balloons, the cake we ordered was great, what else can anyone ask for? We got her a toy kitchen and Mummy got her a tiny doll house. The other gifts were also great – she got soft toys, puzzles, play doh, a train set, tea sets, clothes. We spent the next 2 days sorting out through her stuff and now have 2 big bags of toys and one bag of clothes to donate.

What touched me the most was that both my maids got gifts for her. It was totally unexpected and I felt a bit guilty accepting gifts from them, but it also made me so happy. That the people who look after my daughter care for her so much. When her ‘Didi’ was leaving after the party, Anna clung to her and cried and didn’t want her to go even though I was there. I think I can stop worrying about whether Anna is happy or not with the maid and whether she looks after her or not. Anna’s clinging to her is testimonial enough for me.

Playing with her doll house.

Friends.

Ready to party. The baby in the background is my cousin S’s baby. It was her 10th week birthday too.

Tweety pie!

About anna's mom

First time mom to my lovely little Anna. Mostly swinging between exhaustion and exhilaration. Avid reader, feminist, and out of words at the moment No longer a first time mom. Now mom to my darling babies - Anna and Niki. Still exhausted, still exhilarated,
This entry was posted in Anna and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

