The last year …

of my twenties.

It was my birthday last week. On the fifteenth to be precise. The last birthday of my twenties. Oh well, time flies and all that jazz. I had a lovely day. Anna, as is now expected, wished me many times in the day, sang happy birthday on demand, and always replied with ‘Mumma’ on being asked whose birthday it was. I had a release in office on my birthday of all days and reached home an hour late, but somehow it didn’t upset me. Maybe it’s the approaching thirties.

Every year for my birthday, R makes me buy the gift myself. He’ll take me to the mall and I’ll pick out a nice dress and that’s it. We did the same this year, but I also demanded to be surprised. Like I always do for him. So he bought the gifts in advance and kept them in the office so that I wouldn’t find them, and then of course forgot to bring them home on fourteenth evening. (Digression alert: I never much liked Valentine’s day but now I have actually started disliking it because it messes up my birthday. No flowers or cakes available on fifteenth because all the love-sick puppies have bought them up the day before. Stupid Valentine’s day. Rant over.) Anyway once he realised he’d forgotten the gifts, he somehow managed to locate a flower seller still in business on Valentine’s day evening and got a bouquet for me. I obviously pouted and sulked but gave in after making him grovel for some time. Birthday privileges :). I finally got the gifts after I reached home from office on my birthday and my darling boy did make me so happy. A potted plant, a set of nail-paints and the entire set of Harry Potter DVDs! I had not yet watched the Deathly Hallows movies, since they were released after Anna was born. Watched part I on Sunday and will watch part II in the next few days. Yeahhh :).

Anna also turned twenty-one months old on my birthday. She keeps amazing us with her conversation all the time. The things she picks up, the inferences she makes, the things she says, I just feel so blessed to be the mother of such a smart little one :).

 

 

About anna's mom

First time mom to my lovely little Anna. Mostly swinging between exhaustion and exhilaration. Avid reader, feminist, and out of words at the moment No longer a first time mom. Now mom to my darling babies - Anna and Niki. Still exhausted, still exhilarated,
This entry was posted in Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

