I Wish…Do You?

This is actually the name of one of Anna’s favourite books. The book belonged to me when I was around 5 and now it belongs to my daughter. I love being a mom :).

Anyway what I want to write has nothing to do with the book. I generally drifted off during dinner yesterday and started thinking about wishes. Initially it was the usual about how good it would be if I could get three wishes. But then I remembered the movie, Bedazzled, and it got me thinking in a totally different direction. It made me realize that a wish could be the most dangerous thing in the world. I could think of nothing fool-proof to wish for.

First I thought I’d wish that Anna should always be happy. But one of the possible outcomes I imagined, was a bizarre and creepy child who is always smiling and laughing maniacally and is unaffected by suffering and pain of any kind. I quickly took back that wish. Then I thought of wishing for lots of money, enough to ensure a comfortable lifestyle without my having to work. But I couldn’t arrive at a figure. How much is enough? Plus I started imagining scenarios in which I get the money because I’m actually a part of the underworld and that went on to a very painful death. So scrap that too.

Then I thought that maybe if I’m unselfish and wish for the greater good of mankind, I’ll come up with something. So I decided to wish for an end to global warming and all it’s associated evils. But, of course there’s a but, one way to achieve this would be to simply take us back to the middle ages (I’m sure the wish-giver would have the power to do so), and I’m pretty sure that’s not a good thing. Another idea down the drain. Next I thought I’d wish for an end to violence and war, only to realize that violence and war would not be there if human beings cease to exist. My wish might have the small side effect of terminating human life completely.

I gave up after that. Dinner was already finished and cleared up but I was having so much fun that I barely realized what I was doing. Anyway, this is a totally random post. I just enjoyed the whole thing so much yesterday, that I wanted to put it down here.

What about you? If you had a wish, what would you wish for? Would you be sure that it could not be misinterpreted in a totally bizarre way?

About anna's mom

First time mom to my lovely little Anna. Mostly swinging between exhaustion and exhilaration. Avid reader, feminist, and out of words at the moment No longer a first time mom. Now mom to my darling babies - Anna and Niki. Still exhausted, still exhilarated,
This entry was posted in Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

