Bad Bad December

It’s been quite a long time since my last post. There were so many things I wanted to write about, but somehow there was either no time or when I actually had time, I didn’t want to write.

Anyway, moving on, I am so so glad that December is over. It seemed as if everything that could go wrong, did so.

First of all Anna fell sick. It started with a cough that just wouldn’t go away. Then fever. We took her to her doctor, who prescribed cold medicines and crocin but advised against starting an antibiotic. We kept giving her crocin every 5-6 hours but the fever just wouldn’t stay down. 3-4 days later we again took her to the doctor. She again said that don’t give antibiotics yet. Meanwhile Anna had stopped eating, she would sleep only in my lap, she wouldn’t play, she was unbelievably cranky and almost drove both of us crazy. Finally another 4 days after we took her to the doctor the second time, we started the antibiotic. She almost miraculously recovered in 2 days. She ate and slept and played and cried much less. Oh the bliss! I’m still feeling very guilty and pissed off about the way we and the doctor handled the whole thing. I don’t blame the doctor completely because we are also very wary of giving her medicines. But this time I think we went too far. I’ve learned my lesson and now if ever the fever crosses day 3, in the medicine goes.

My parents were supposed to come over for a visit in mid December. There was some trouble at dad’s workplace and they postponed it to end December, only to indefinitely postpone it again. Gah.

The maid who looks after my daughter has an infected piercing in one ear which she needs to get treated. We gave her off almost the whole of last week of December to get it fixed, but of course it didn’t happen. She kept running around the hospital and the doctors kept calling her again and again but the procedure is yet to be done.

Then something happened which almost completely shattered me, my belief in who I am as a person, as a mother. We took a decision that I never though we could. I have never hurt so badly in my life and hope I never do again. What happened had nothing to do with Anna, thankfully.

Anna will be 20 months old on the 15th. A post on that coming up soon.

And oh yes, Happy New Year everyone :).

About anna's mom

First time mom to my lovely little Anna. Mostly swinging between exhaustion and exhilaration. Avid reader, feminist, and out of words at the moment No longer a first time mom. Now mom to my darling babies - Anna and Niki. Still exhausted, still exhilarated,
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bad Bad December

  1. chandni says:

    Happy New Year…hope 2012 rocks!

Leave a Reply

