Potty training – Update 1

Anna peed in the toilet for the first time yesterday! I got so over-excited that R had to tell me to calm down. So much ado for a little bit of pee! But I was and am super excited. We started making her sit on the pot (with the little potty seat attached) about a week ago. First with her pajamas and diaper on and then bare-bottomed. We would make her sit at the time she usually poops (after her morning bottle), but though she was happy to sit there and didn’t protest at all (something I was worried would happen), she wouldn’t produce anything. Yesterday we made her sit as soon as she got up from her afternoon nap and made loads of shushing sounds (we also turned on the tap) and she did it! I know this is just the beginning and we have a way to go yet, but she did it, she did it, she did it. Okay, that’s out of my system now.

I’m not sure how ready she is for full training yet, and how fast it will go, but I’m hoping that by the time she’s two she’ll be out of diapers. At least the day-time ones. The plan is to put her on the potty every morning as we are already doing. Then for this week I’ll try to make her sit as many times in the evening as I can to see if she is able to make the association between peeing and the toilet. Once she’s progressed a bit, I’ll ask the maid to do the same in the afternoon (specially just after her nap). Plus on the weekend I’ll try to let her remain diaperless as much as possible.

It’s the next big milestone and I’m hoping we’ll reach it without any major meltdowns or hiccups. Though right now I’m not even able to imagine life without diapers.

About anna's mom

First time mom to my lovely little Anna. Mostly swinging between exhaustion and exhilaration. Avid reader, feminist, and out of words at the moment No longer a first time mom. Now mom to my darling babies - Anna and Niki. Still exhausted, still exhilarated,
This entry was posted in Anna and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Potty training – Update 1

  1. Waw that’s great..Key is patience and try to make it as a practice..I am sure she will learn the trick soon..Good luck..

Leave a Reply

