Kindled!

I love books. The days I don’t have anything to read I end up going to sleep before 10. Just because I am so bored. I don’t want to surf the net at home having already spent the day doing just that at office. I don’t want to watch TV. Anna is asleep by 8. I do talk to R but he has things to do and we can’t just sit and chat the evening away anyway.

One of my favourite parts of the day is when after putting Anna to sleep, after finishing dinner, after straightening up the house, after cleaning the kitchen, I plonk myself of the couch and lose myself in whatever I am reading at the moment. We have dinner early so I’m usually done with all my chores by 8:30 which leaves me atleast 2 hours of blissful reading. It is the only time I get to myself in the day and I am extremely possessive about it.

I had started this post to write about my kindle but somehow got side-tracked. Anyway R got me a kindle for my birthday this year and I am in love with it. But somehow I seem to be one of very few book lovers who like their kindle. Most people insist that they don’t like reading unless they have an actual book in their hands. The smell of books is so divine and all that. Sure I love all that too but in the end the only thing that truly matters is the story. Once I read a few pages and really get into the story, I forget what I’m reading it on – my laptop, a real book or my lovely kindle.

What I love about the kindle is that it is super convenient in all ways. It’s sleek and light and very easy to hold. It can easily fit into most handbags. The page turning buttons are very convenient and after sometime you’ll do it without even realising. The display is just like that of a real book. There’s no back-lighting and absolutely no strain on the eyes. The battery runs for a month. The problem of where to keep the books you keep buying just goes away. I have one book case which is overflowing and there is just no more pace in my apartment for another one. Because of my kindle I’ve actually stopped buying real books which I hope is good for the environment too. The only books we’ve bought in the past one year are for Anna.

But for me the biggest plus point is that I can think of a book I want to read and I can start reading it in less than 2 minutes. No more going to book shops where most of the sales crew look like they don’t even know how to read, no more looking and looking for books which somehow no shop ever has. Just download the book and read. There were some book stores I used to love going to, where the people could actually figure out your taste and suggest some books, but they were so far away and through so much traffic that I would count myself lucky if I could go there twice a year.

Plus you can carry as many books as you want when you are traveling. I’d gone to Finland with R a couple of years ago for around 2 weeks. He had some work and I tagged along. It was in December and the place we went to is around 50 kms south of the Arctic Circle. The sun would rise at 11:00 am and set at 2:00 pm. The temperature was in the range of -15 deg C. I would somehow venture out for half and hour everyday when R was in office but the rest of the day was spent in a small studio apartment where the TV had only 2 English channels. I had only carried two books because of baggage restrictions and I almost went crazy with boredom. If only I’d had my kindle then!

So the whole point of this post is that the Kindle is an amazing device. If you love to read then this is the way to go. Currently about 25% of my reading is on the kindle but I’m sure with time this number is will only go up.

About anna's mom

First time mom to my lovely little Anna. Mostly swinging between exhaustion and exhilaration. Avid reader, feminist, and out of words at the moment No longer a first time mom. Now mom to my darling babies - Anna and Niki. Still exhausted, still exhilarated,
This entry was posted in Books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Kindled!

  1. Anil Singhal says:

    cool.. I have been speculating for long on gettting one.. for now waiting for the new line of kindle’. which model kindled your life ?

  2. Sangitha says:

    Yay! So needed to hear this from someone! Am going for the same one, basic version (with keypad), wi-fi works well, all the 3G in India is anyway in some politician’s pocket! 😀

    Thanks, Anna’s mom! I can’t wait for this one to wing itself to me now.

Leave a Reply

