Bullet point report.

1) Saw Delhi Belly. I watched a movie in a theatre after one and a half years and am I glad that I picked this one! My only crib was that it was too disgusting and there was too much potty (thankfully I closed my eyes at one critical point). But overall loved the movie. I was shocked to see kids in the hall. A couple were less than one year and though I am totally against kids in movie halls, atleast they couldn’t understand what was going on. One kid looked around two and half to me. I wonder how his parents explained what was going on in the movie to him.

2) Anna started 2 hours of daycare everyday last Monday. The daycare’s very near my home and seems a nice place. Most of the kids are in the one to two age group and the teacher/aayah:kid ratio is good. Last week Mummy stayed with her for 2 days and then the maid stayed for a further 3 days. This week she’s staying there alone. She does cry but that is expected. I hope she settles down soon. Anna is up to so many new antics, must write a separate post for that soon.

3) We are going to Singapore/Malaysia for a vacation. Yayyyyy! R’s sister lives in Singapore and they are due to shift to US in September. So we are visiting them in the first week of August. I’m super excited. This is the first vacation we’ll be taking with Anna. A bit worried about her getting cranky but I’ve decided to just go with the flow and try to enjoy as much as we can. Will try to let go of her routine as much as possible. My only minor disappointment is that since R’s parents will also be there I won’t be able to wear my pretty clothes. Oh well. It’s not a big deal and I’ll try to be mature about it :P.

4) Mummy is leaving end of this month. So when we come back from the vacation it’ll be just us three. Please God make it work. I’m very worried about how we’ll manage, specially since now I’m very busy with work.

5) Work. After having no work for the whole of this year, we are now literally drowning in it. I don’t want to rant about work here but though I love my immediate team and manager, overall our work structure sucks big time. There are long periods of no work and dying a slow death of boredom. And then suddenly a project starts and we are pressured to finish it even before we get a chance to actually start.

6) I always thought of myself as a coward, a big scaredy cat. I’m not comfortable staying alone though now I’m able to manage it. I don’t watch horror movies. I’m a bit scared of the dark. But on Friday I realised that I can be brave. We’d gone on a team outing to a fishing camp on the Cauvery. There were some ‘adventure’ activities organised for us. One was crossing over a stream using a Burma Bridge. One guy went and then the next chickened out. I was next and though I was initially very scared I did it. I also crossed back walking sideways on a cable and holding onto a rope for support (I think it was called a parallel bridge). Most guys in my team didn’t even want to try. Some tried and gave up. Some had to be really coaxed to do it. I’m proud to say that I did all the activities, taking the lead and not backing out even once. It was so against what I thought of myself that I realised that maybe I’m not so much of a coward after all. I’ve decided that from now one I will think of myself as brave and act accordingly :).

That’s it for now. I’m glad I finally got down to writing all this down. All these thought buzzing in my head weren’t doing much for my concentration at work.

This is what a Burma Bridge looks like. There are two parallel ropes and hanging from them at regular intervals are U shaped loops of rope. You cross by holding onto the parallel ropes and putting one foot at a time into the loops. The whole structure wobbles quite a lot but it’s not as difficult as it looks. I made it by repeatedly chanting the first two lines of Hanuman Chalisa (the first two lines is all I know).

About anna's mom

First time mom to my lovely little Anna. Mostly swinging between exhaustion and exhilaration. Avid reader, feminist, and out of words at the moment No longer a first time mom. Now mom to my darling babies - Anna and Niki. Still exhausted, still exhilarated,
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bullet point report.

  1. Hey congrats to Anna and her mom , just hang in there she will start enjoying daycare in few more weeks. Big vacation ..Yay..don’t worry abt Anna, kids adjust to new circumstances and environment quickly than we anticipate..Good luck..

  2. Titaxy says:

    enjoy your vacation ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

