ONE!

My darling little baby girl,

Today you are a year old. Let’s say it again. ONE YEAR OLD. OMG.

You mean everything to me sweetheart. I love you more than I can ever express. What do I say? There are so many thoughts in my head but I can’t capture them. Most of all I have an overwhelming feeling of gratitude. Gratitude that you are ours. Gratitude that the worst phase is over. Gratitude for the adorable and smart baby that you are.

And I have dreams. So many dreams for the future. For each birthday. I know this year you won’t understand it’s your birthday. But hopefully next year you will enjoy your birthday and the party. I sometimes try to imagine what you will be like a year later. How will you look? What will you say? What mischief will you be upto?

But then I remind myself to focus on now. Which is a perfect place to be. You’re such a joy to be around. You’re an easy baby to handle. Sunny and sweet. Happy to play. Happy to walk and run around (you’re no longer content to walk and insist on running. I have my heart in my mouth all the time when you recklessly speed across the floor). You understand so much  now. You can recognize and fetch the correct book. You can point at various objects. You are trying to speak. And your laugh. There is no sound more beautiful than a baby laughing, specially your very own baby.

I can’t believe it’s been a year. A year ago you were a huge bump in my tummy. A much dreamed about and loved baby. But you weren’t YOU. You weren’t Anna. Now we love you as much for being Anna as for being ours. Then you were a very sweet dream shared by us. Now you are everything and more than we could have ever wished for. I would sometimes try to imagine how the baby would look like but somehow I could never visualise a real baby in my arms. I could only think about the baby kicking me in my tummy. Now I can’t imagine a time when you weren’t here. That you could be anything other than what you are.

Thank you my baby. Thank you for the best year of my life. Thank you for the adventure that is only just beginning.

Your very emotional and  lovestruck,                                                                                               Mumma

Twelve months of Anna.

About anna's mom

First time mom to my lovely little Anna. Mostly swinging between exhaustion and exhilaration. Avid reader, feminist, and out of words at the moment No longer a first time mom. Now mom to my darling babies - Anna and Niki. Still exhausted, still exhilarated,
This entry was posted in Anna and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to ONE!

  1. Happy Birthday Anna..Love the pictures.she is adorable.

  2. Titaxy says:

    she looks lovely.

    Happy birthday, Anna dear. May you see a million dreams through those beady eyes of yours and may all those dreams come true. Wishing you a lot of love, joy and peace.

  3. ThaRaNi MeTiLDa says:

    I am late 😦
    I wish Anna a very very happy year ahead. She is a adorable baby .

Leave a Reply

