Aaj friday hai…

daaru peene ka din hai.

This is R’s favourite line for every Friday. Sadly for him nowadays we don’t go out so much so opportunities to drink daaru are not so numerous as before. Plus his Mom’s here and so he doesn’t drink very often in front of her.

Sometimes on Friday evenings I wistfully think of the fun times we had before Anna was born. On most Friday’s we (R and I, my cousin S and her husband M, my other cousin R and her husband J) would meet at one of our homes and have a nice time – a few drinks, good food, lots of R rated jokes and general masti. Infact that was how we’d spend most weekends. Watch a movie, eat out, chill around in each others houses and in general waste time in a very enjoyable way. I miss that sometimes – a lot. To be able to lie around and do nothing at all. To spend lots of time cuddling with R. To go out whenever the fancy struck. To sleep late and wake up late. In general to just live our lives for fun. Does that make me a bad mom?

I know life is really beautiful in many ways now that we have Anna. In sometime I’ll go home and meet her and see her face light up. I’ll go down to the garden with her and watch her drunkenly walk round and round. We’ll laugh at all her antics.

I’m a bit ashamed to admit just how much I miss my old life but one point of writing here is to honestly document all that I feel as a mom. The good and the bad. This is one of the not so good things. But I do feel it and my not admitting it won’t make it go away and nor does my feeling it make my love for Anna any less. I guess it’s just been so long since we did anything fun. Anything out of the normal day-to-day routine of bringing up baby and going to work. Must plan something soon. Maybe a weekend trip might make us all feel better. Not that I’m feeling bad. Just a bit blah. Sigh. I need some chocolate now.

Seven days without chocolate makes one weak. 😛

About anna's mom

First time mom to my lovely little Anna. Mostly swinging between exhaustion and exhilaration. Avid reader, feminist, and out of words at the moment No longer a first time mom. Now mom to my darling babies - Anna and Niki. Still exhausted, still exhilarated,
This entry was posted in Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Aaj friday hai…

  1. Ah parenthood bring its own happiness and problems. We all of course love our kids, but we need little bit of our own time too. When R’s mom is here, make some time to go out (just 2 of you) or with friends. I am sure you will have fun, don’t feel guilty at all..Hugs to you..

Leave a Reply

