party prep

In exactly eleven days Anna will be a year old. I try thinking about this time last year and it seems as if I’m looking at someone else’s life. I was on maternity leave this time last year and generally just chilling around and getting a bit bored. Now my life is so full I barely get time to even think. My baby will be a year old. I still can’t get my head around it. It works both ways. Sometimes I see her and wonder how did she get so big. Then I look at her old pics and feel truly surprised that she was ever so small.

Birthday party preparations are almost done. Luckily her birthday’s falling on a Sunday. Venue is booked, cake is ordered. Decorations to be bought this weekend. Birthday dress is ready – rather 2 dresses are ready and I need to choose one. A bit of a dilemma here. Mummy and I had bought a dress for Anna sometime in February thinking she could wear it on her birthday. Later I thought it would be too big and decided to buy another one. In the meanwhile R’s sister sent a beautiful dress for Anna. R’s Mom said we could make her wear it on her birthday. We tried on both and both look lovely (the one I had bought is not too big). Now which do I pick? The first one and risk making R’s Mom feel bad (not sure she will but she seemed eager to make Anna wear the one her daughter had sent) or the second one. I know it’s not a big deal but it’s something I have to decide.

I was thinking of getting some photos of her clicked professionally and framing them. We could make it a tradition and get it done every year on her birthday. Choose a wall and hang Anna’s birthday photos on it. Need to get it done this weekend.

The biggest thing remaining is the Birthday Gift. What do we buy for her? Clothes she has plenty. Toys she has plenty. Plus she never shows too much interest in toys. She’s too small for a tricycle. We’re planning to buy a gold coin every year for her on her birthday but that’s not something she can get now. If I can’t think of anything special I guess we might not buy anything at all. Not that she’ll mind. But what about later? When she wants to know what she got for her first birthday. I think I’ll just buy her some books. She loves books and it’s something I’ll always want to buy for her.

Am I missing anything? We’ve not planned anything big for the birthday. Just a lunch at a nice place with family. There will be around 20 people all of whom Anna knows well. I’d wanted to keep it at home but not enough place to seat twenty, plus I’ll be exhausted by the time it’s done and won’t be able to enjoy this special day. Because right now it’s more my special day than Anna’s. She won’t even know it’s her birthday. And I don’t think it’s possible to make more of a fuss over her than we do everday. This party is more for us. Maybe next year she’ll be excited about her birthday and we’ll have a party for her friends. But this year it’s our first birthday as parents and that’s what we’ll be celebrating :).

About anna's mom

First time mom to my lovely little Anna. Mostly swinging between exhaustion and exhilaration. Avid reader, feminist, and out of words at the moment No longer a first time mom. Now mom to my darling babies - Anna and Niki. Still exhausted, still exhilarated,
This entry was posted in Anna and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to party prep

  1. ThaRaNi MeTiLDa says:

    May be you can make her wear both the dresses, I mean one in the mrng and other for the party. Waiting for the party pics with those cutest laughs… And I will come back after 11 days to wish Anna:)

  2. Ah Anna will be one , oh waw you must be excited. I had a different story, when Chucky turned one year I was very depressed , I couldn’t accept that for a week. I felt all of a sudden she is not longer a baby..Later I started enjoying, she will be my baby for ever isn’t it..

Leave a Reply

