Temptation

Everyday in the office cafeteria as I dutifully reach out for the jar of Marie biscuits I can see the other ones calling out to me. We’re here too. We’re waiting for you. You can have just one. We’re so much tastier and prettier than those insipid things you pick each time. Come on it’s not such a big deal. We know you want to. And everyday I hesitate. My hand hovers between the two jars. Trying to decide, agonizing. Then I remember my lovely lovely dresses which are now a bit tight – not so well-fitting any longer. And I sigh. And I tell the others sternly – ‘you’re not good for me’. I disconsolately pick out a good, healthy Marie biscuit. Which tastes even more like saw-dust by now. I make a solemn promise to myself. Someday I will pick out as many of the others as I can hold in both hands. And I will eat them all – one by one. Savouring them. And then I will stick out my tongue at those goody two shoes sitting so smugly in their jar and I will never eat a Marie biscuit again. The End.

About anna's mom

First time mom to my lovely little Anna. Mostly swinging between exhaustion and exhilaration. Avid reader, feminist, and out of words at the moment No longer a first time mom. Now mom to my darling babies - Anna and Niki. Still exhausted, still exhilarated,
This entry was posted in Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Temptation

  1. I too wish the same..

Leave a Reply

