Nanhi kali sone chali

This song from the movie Sujata and sung by Geeta Dutt is what I have sung for Anna to put her to sleep since she was a few weeks old. It’s a lovely melody – very soothing. It can really calm her down (and me too).

Anna really does love music. It’s amazing how magical the effect of music can be on anybody. Anna was 3 days old when we brought her home from the hospital. R’s parents had come over for 3-4 days to see the new baby. On maybe the second night at around 2:00 am she started howling and just wouldn’t sleep. I tried feeding her, rocking her, Mummy even spoon-fed her some formula but she just wouldn’t quieten down. We were both exhausted and I was ready to burst into tears. Finally I woke up R’s Mom. She took Anna out to the hall and sang to her for 2 hours. She sings really well and Anna didn’t cry at all after that and fell asleep after sometime. Mummy and I also managed to get some much needed sleep and things looked much better in the morning.

We immediately downloaded some songs and put them on my phone since neither Mummy nor I can sing to save our lives. Whenever Anna was crying a lot we would play the songs and she would quieten down a bit. Even now she loves to hear her Dadi singing. If she stops, Anna immediately protests. And she even likes my singing :P. I know she doesn’t have an option, but it really gives my ego a boost when she sweetly falls asleep as I’m singing to her. R says that maybe she falls asleep to escape the singing since she doesn’t have any other way to shut me up. I say he’s just jealous because he can’t put her to sleep as easily as I can. Maybe in a few months or years she’ll realise that Mumma is actually very besura and not want to listen to me anymore. Till then darling, Mumma will sing on. It’s not everyday you get a captive audience :).

About anna's mom

First time mom to my lovely little Anna. Mostly swinging between exhaustion and exhilaration. Avid reader, feminist, and out of words at the moment No longer a first time mom. Now mom to my darling babies - Anna and Niki. Still exhausted, still exhilarated,
This entry was posted in Anna and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nanhi kali sone chali

  1. This is my story ..even T loves to hear songs, one of our long drives we had to play same song for 5hrs..Imagine us hearing same song for 5hrs.

Leave a Reply

