Single Mom

Yesterday was my first day all alone with Anna since she was born. I was in-charge – with nobody to fall back to. R’s sister lives in Singapore and they were going to Europe via Chennai. So R and his mom went to Chennai for one day to meet them.

The day was pretty good. Anna behaved well and I didn’t have any problem in handling her. But it made me realise how difficult it must be to be a single-mom. Specially if you don’t have family nearby. Being the only one responsible for a baby 24×7 is exhausting to say the least. At times I found myself losing patience – when she wouldn’t eat or was just whining for no reason. And I felt so small – here was I, ready to shout at a little baby who is generally very well-behaved, when I was on my own for precisely 24 hours. How do these other women manage? Who have a kid or more, a job, plus housework. And they do it day in and day out – with no break and no rest. My maid does all the housework and cooking. Right now I’m not very busy at work so once I’m home I don’t need to switch on my laptop. Since Anna was born either Mummy or R’s Mom has always been here. When I’m home I do everything for Anna but still there’s always someone to help. And still some days I end up getting frazzled. I guess I need a lesson in patience. And I also need to grow-up fast. 😐

About anna's mom

First time mom to my lovely little Anna. Mostly swinging between exhaustion and exhilaration. Avid reader, feminist, and out of words at the moment No longer a first time mom. Now mom to my darling babies - Anna and Niki. Still exhausted, still exhilarated,
This entry was posted in Anna and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Single Mom

  1. Seena says:

    Hi first time here..you have a beautiful blog..and ur little angel is so cute..Yeah its tough to manage our own babies and we do loose patience..don’t feel guilty..its part of motherhood..

  2. Pingback: One (and a half) | annastales

Leave a Reply

