She’s eleven today. Months I mean.

My darling little baby,

You’re eleven months old today. I just can’t believe it. I remember when you were born and I was sleep-deprived and tired, I would dream of when you’d become 3 months old. Because people had told me that babies are generally easier to handle once they’re 3 months old. I remember how the days used to pass so slowly. I used to keep track of your age in weeks and be happy each week as you grew older. I think I stopped keeping track of that once you were 17-18 weeks old. After that it was in months. And each month seems shorter than the last. Truly. In exactly a month you’ll be a year old and I guess we’ll stop counting months too.

So Happy Monthly Birthday baby. Cliched I know but I can’t believe how fast time flies. Already the first year is almost gone. When you were around a month old your Nani had told me to enjoy the first year as much as I could because there was nothing like the first year. And I have sweetheart. Soon you won’t be a baby any longer. Soon I won’t be the most important person. I love how when I walk in each evening your face lights up and you hold up your arms to be picked up. I must remember to savour your babyness as much as I can. And not be upset when you refuse to act like an adult and eat your food properly.

You’ll always be a baby to me. Even when you’re eleven or twenty-one or fifty-one. Just like I am your Nani’s baby and Nani is my Nani’s baby :).

Love you little one.

Your besotted,                                                                                                                          Mumma

About anna's mom

First time mom to my lovely little Anna. Mostly swinging between exhaustion and exhilaration. Avid reader, feminist, and out of words at the moment No longer a first time mom. Now mom to my darling babies - Anna and Niki. Still exhausted, still exhilarated,
This entry was posted in Anna and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to She’s eleven today. Months I mean.

  1. Titaxy says:

    aww 🙂 Happy 11th month bday to the little one 🙂

  2. Seena says:

    Happy Birthday to Anna..My daughter turned 22months yesterday..They do grow fast isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

