Cricket Shricket

Ok. So I really don’t like cricket. I don’t hate it now but I really can’t make myself feel any enthusiasm for it. I find it really really BORING. T20 is not so bad but one day’s and test matches are just so blah. What’s the fun?

Living in India there’s no way you can escape cricket. If cricket were a religion, India would be one strong country. No clashes, no fights, no riots. Only I guess people like me might be lynched. Gulp.

So today is the INDIA-PAKISTAN semi-final match. Reason I’m writing it in caps is because that’s how it seems when people say it. India-Pakistan match – world cup – people going crazy. Today morning I was wondering how MSD must have felt when he got up in the morning. Did it slowly sink in after some time that today is a big day? Or did he get up all charged up and ready to go? Or did he want to hide beneath the covers and never get up?

One of the reasons I’m not so fond of cricket is because of the way it excludes everything else. In the cafeteria, at home, in the lift, it’s all people can talk about. No movies get released, nothing good shows up on TV. Not that I watch TV but what if I want to? And what is it with Kapil Dev? Every four years he’s pulled out of storage and dusted and prettied up and put up on TV. I guess he’s one guy who might hope India never wins another World Cup. Who’ll talk to him then? It’s not that I dislike him. How can you dislike someone you know nothing about? Just that the whole thing seems a bit pathetic to me. And don’t even get me started on that idiot of a sardar-ji – Sidhu. He’s so irritating he makes Janice sound musical.

Ok rant over. Just hope everyone behaves with maturity, whoever wins. No public outcries, no trashing of public or private property, and most of all dignity in victory or loss.

About anna's mom

First time mom to my lovely little Anna. Mostly swinging between exhaustion and exhilaration. Avid reader, feminist, and out of words at the moment No longer a first time mom. Now mom to my darling babies - Anna and Niki. Still exhausted, still exhilarated,
This entry was posted in Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

