Be careful what you wish for; you are apt to get it

I had always wanted to be a mom. I vaguely remember a book I read when I was about 13 or so about the various body parts telling their story. The nose chapter was funny but the one that struck me the most was the one on breasts (perverts please ignore) and how they were meant for feeding a baby. That is the earliest memory I have of wanting a baby. Ever since, whenever and wherever I saw a baby, I wanted to hold it and hug the cute little body and coochi coo with it. And of course I wanted one of my own. Around 3-4 years ago I discovered the world of blogging and with it mommy blogs. Somehow I was never busy enough in office and with free access to internet I got hooked onto reading loads of blogs, most of them written by mothers. Even though I was an early twenties working woman somehow these blogs (even the ones with all the mundane descriptions of raising kids) struck a chord with me.
Around that time I met an old friend and discovered that he was the man of my dreams. A whirlwind romance and year later we were married and living in Bangalore. The craving for a baby was so strong then that I started pestering him for one almost from day one of our married life. He obviously wasn’t too keen on the idea and so it went. But truly if you want something so bad the universe does conspire and a year and a half later I found out I was pregnant. Initially there was shock but later oh the joy – the pure joy. The next 9 months were so very precious. It was an easy pregnancy – no morning sickness, no weakness and overall good health. A loving, pampering husband. The first flutterings of movement, the strong strong kicks later on and so much more.
Ok have written a lot for just the second post. And there is a point to all this – not just random musings of an idle mind. So like so many blogs I have read I will post this is parts. Always wanted to do this :P.
TBC…

About anna's mom

First time mom to my lovely little Anna. Mostly swinging between exhaustion and exhilaration. Avid reader, feminist, and out of words at the moment No longer a first time mom. Now mom to my darling babies - Anna and Niki. Still exhausted, still exhilarated,
This entry was posted in Anna and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

